Parent's POV

Iris

Some of you may know me as a Goo Goo Dolls fan.  Love ’em or hate ’em, we’ve all heard their song Iris.  In case you were living under a rock close to Y2K, here’s a link to the song.

Ever since we found out that Ruby was born without irises and that they would not be developing, it made me think, was my teenage love for a top 40 alternative band a sign of things to come?  Some may think this is shallow.  Some may think it’s weird.  Others may think it’s a mere coincidence.  But I challenge you to find somebody else who (a) likes the Goo Goo Dolls and (b) has a child with aniridia.

The song was originally written for the City of Angels soundtrack starring Nicholas Cage and Meg Ryan (that’s right Meg Ryan – my name is Ryan!).  When asked what kinds of things he was thinking about when he wrote the song, lead singer John Rzeznik said,

“When I wrote it, I was thinking about the situation of the Nicholas Cage character in the movie. This guy is completely willing to give up his own immortality, just to be able to feel something very human. And I think, ‘Wow! What an amazing thing it must be like to love someone so much that you give up everything to be with them.’ That’s a pretty heavy thought.”

… to love someone so much that you give up everything to be with them.  That’s how I feel about my Ruby.  Although Nic Cage and Meg Ryan exemplify more of an eros love, my storge love for Ruby has no boundaries (a love between parents and children).  The love that I feel for her is always present and drives everything I do.  Isn’t that what most of us want deep down?  To believe that someone or something close to us will make the world a better place?  It’s that hope that drives me.  I would give up anything to provide for my daughter, to help her realise her dreams and watch her grow into a strong, beautiful woman with the belief “I played a part in that”.

-RG

 

Leave a Reply

